|A comment on Quick Draw
||[Aug. 1st, 2008|04:29 pm]
Camarilla Settings Office
I raised the issue of the Quick Draw merit with Justin recently, because I felt that it was a merit that was widely misunderstood and I wanted to get clarification that I was interpreting it right. Having had that confirmation, I wanted to bring it up here, because whether consciously or unconsciously it's being used in an abusive manner.
Quick Draw does *not* let you draw a weapon as a free or reflexive action. Quick Draw means merely that you can draw a weapon *as part of the action to attack with that weapon*. You can't use Quick Draw for anything else.
So, you can't do the following;
Quick Draw and run away.
Quick Draw and activate a power.
Quick Draw and dodge.
For the Requiem venue one of the most important things to note here is the use of Quick Draw in conjunction with the Theban Sorcery ritual Lash Beyond Death. If your Lash Beyond Death action is "I quick draw the stake and then do something else" then it's illegitimate. If you are quick drawing the stake with your Lash Beyond Death then the only thing you can subsequently do in that action is attack someone with the stake. And I think that's reasonably fair - a one dot merit shouldn't be something that allows you to, for example, pull out a stake in your chest *and* utilize a fair escape power.
It's an easy oversight to make, because we don't refer to the Blue Book that often, so we (and I include myself) have made assumptions about the Quick Draw merit based merely on the idea that "it lets you draw a weapon really quickly". But the rules are quite specific once you check.
AMST CoS: Settings
No matter how upset you get, no matter how irrational the initial reaction to getting your nose a little out of joint is, you are not allowed to lose sight of the fact that there is no possible way anything that happens in pretendy fun time games can actually be important. It is not, nor will it ever be, a big deal.